Food Classification   
    The Halal or permissible foods are:
* All vegetable materials except intoxicating ones
* Fish and most seafood
* Milk and eggs from halal animals

All foods are considered halal except the following (which are haram):
* Pork and its by-products
* Blood
* Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering
* Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals
* Alcoholic drinks and intoxicating drugs
* Foods contaminated with any of the above products

    There are various kinds of ingredients found on the labels of products we buy. Some of them are simple or single components, like salt, sugar and water. Others are complex or compound, such as colorings, cheese powder, flavorings, seasonings, shortening, spices etc. On some labels we see the ingredients are listed by their functions, such as antioxidants; emulsifiers; preservatives; supplements and thickeners to name a few. Sometimes the questionable ingredients such as alcohol; enzymes; fats and gelatin are not clearly listed but are hidden in flavorings; cheese, gums and ice cream. As Muslims we should know if the ingredients we see on the label are halal, since they could be obtained from animal, plant, microbial, or synthetic sources. A list of such items is given below for a quick reference and can be copied and carried along for shopping convenience.

Mashbooh Food Items:
* Animal fat or protein (halal animal, halal slaughtered)
* Anti-oxidants (animal or plant source)
* Dairy Products (enzymes/cheese/whey)
* Emulsifiers (animal or plant source)
* Enzymes (animal/microbial/plants)
* Flavoring agents (non halal ingredients)
* L-Cysteine and other amino acids (source)
* Gelatin (animals, halal certified)
* Glycerin (animals or plant)
* Vitamins (carriers)